baking · Cakes · Cooking · Healthy Eating · Recipes · Squash

Orange Is The New… Cake?

I’m sure everyone is going to think I have nothing up my sleeve but mashed up vegetables. I’m quite a messy baker, so that is entirely possible, to be fair. So here it is, yet another veg-based bake. It’s a weird one. It involves a squash. That is, one of these guys…

 

Image result for kabocha
Star of the show…

The variety of squash was chestnut squash, which I think is the same as what the US calls kabocha squash but I am really no expert. Anyways, we had one sitting in the kitchen for a couple of weeks, and decided to roast it up when we had the oven going for a delicious roast pork at the weekend. We had a bunch of squash left over afterwards, so that got me thinking about how to use it up in a bake.

DSC_0267
Chop up your squash and roast…

I got let out of work earlier than usual one night last week, so I seized the chance to do some rare weeknight baking. I went for a mix of plain and coconut flour, sweetened with maple syrup and included coconut oil, so it’s a pretty healthy cake. I admit – I think I overdid the coconut flour so it was a little grainy in texture. Also, I am less fond of the taste of this particular squash – I vastly prefer butternut squash so in future I think I would use that over the chestnut. Plus, butternut’s much cheaper!

There’s not much to it – you just mash up your squash and add it into the mix. It will get quite thick and sticky but it comes out fine.

DSC_0277
Squash that squash.

This does make quite a large cake and as we hadn’t finished ours in a week, we put half in the fridge. I’m not sure how this will affect the taste, but better than it going mouldy. I think it would be nice with some sort of icing, but we never quite got around to putting any on. Plus, I’m always wary about icing, because it can often become overpoweringly sickly. What do you think?

DSC_0289

Butternut Squash Cake

  • Servings: serves 10
  • Difficulty: pretty easy
  • Print

This is a fascinatingly orange cake, I admit, and you can definitely taste the squash. If you only want a hint of  that squashy flavour, halve the amount of puree you put in and add extra spices. You can do this gluten-free and dairy-free with appropriate substitutes,  but it’s not inherently so. 

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup of coconut oil or butter
  • 3/4 cup of maple syrup or maple sugar/sugar of your choosing
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups of plain flour (or sub in some buckwheat/coconut flour, about 20%)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tbsp plain yoghurt
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • pinch of salt
  • Splash of milk (coconut, almond or cow’s)
  • 1 1/2 cups of cooked squash (it should be very soft)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 180C (170 if fan) and grease a large cake tin.
  2. Mash up your squash with a fork so it’s a smooth paste without any large lumps.
  3. Melt your coconut oil with the maple syrup and/or sugar – stir until well mixed.
  4. Stir in the yoghurt and milk.
  5. Whisk in the eggs until well incorporated.
  6. Mix the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg until well blended.
  7. Fold in the flour mix until roughly blended.
  8. Fold in the squash. It will get quite thick and sticky and very orange – if it looks too thick to pour, add a little extra milk.
  9. Pour the batter into the cake tin
  10. Bake for 50-60 mins until an inserted skewer comes out clean.
  11. Serve with some ice-cream or yoghurt and fresh fruit.

 

Leave a Reply

